BLUE MISTFLOWER (Conoclinium coelestinum)

WHAT FLORIDA NATIVE PLANT IS BLOOMING TODAY?: BLUE MISTFLOWER

Conoclinium coelestinum is a perennial herb that reaches a height of 1-3 feet. Freely self seeds or divide by roots. Can be aggressive, but provides nectar for bees and butterflies, especially late in the season when not a lot of other things are blooming. Seeds are favored by birds.

Learn: http://mdc.mo.gov/discover-nature/field-guide/mist-flower-wild-ageratum-blue-boneset

###

2 comments
  1. I have this plant growing in my yard..love it! But I also have something quite similar that blooms white and purple/blue. The flowers never open as widely as the blue mistflower and I’m stumped re: what it is called. I didn’t plant it..it just grows in the same spots every year. If you wouldn’t mind helping to identify it, I could send you a pic? I haven’t placed it on my blog yet because I don’t know the name.
    Let me know how (and If) I may email you the photo?
    Thanks!!!

    • Loret said:

      Hi there!

      If you have facebook, post it at http://www.facebook.com/PineLilyChapterFNPS or twitter to @PineLilyFNPS . Otherwise to PineLilyFNPS [at] aol [dot] com and I’ll give it a whirl. I cover the social media accounts for the local chapter of the Florida Native Plant Society.

Leave a Reply

